#293: “Here’s a simple truth that I think [I] need to face up to…”

“the people we meet at the wrong time are actually just the wrong people.”

“You never meet the right people at the wrong time…The right people don’t make you hmm and haw about whether or not you want to be with them; you just know.”

“You don’t worry about fitting them into your complicated schedule, because they become a part of that schedule.”

And I think most importantly,

“The truth is, when we pass someone up because the timing is wrong, what we are really saying is that we don’t care to spend our time on that person. There will never be a magical time when everything falls into place and fixes all our broken relationships. But there may someday be a person who makes the issue of timing irrelevant.

Because when someone is right for us, we make the time to let them into our lives. And that kind of timing is always right.”

(Priebe, 2014)

I’ve experienced that before, the phenomenon, the privilege of meeting the right person. We had to discontinue our relationship unfortunately, but she was the right person for me during the time we were together. I hope I was hers too.

Now, I’m experiencing this phenomenon, meeting someone at the wrong time. So, I’m quite glad that I came across this article by Heidi Priebe (again) from a Tumblr post that showed up on my Twitter feed (the wonders of social media and the Internet). While reading it, I found that the truths that Priebe listed and expounded on were quite harsh for my taste, probably because I’m still hung up over how I hurt someone who has been wonderful to me until I pushed her over the edge (metaphorically of course).

But Priebe’s writing are my consolation, my reminder, and my hope to heal, to recover, to move on. Just being able to go back to being friends with her will the best thing that I can wish for. That always seems to be the case. But that will take time, that needs time, we both need time. And in the midst of this time though, I need to pick myself up and find myself again.

Reading List:

The Truth About Meeting Someone At The Wrong Time | Thought Catalog

#293: “Here’s a simple truth that I think [I] need to face up to…”

Leave a Reply

