#215: the ones who care the most

One thing to be thankful for today? My parents.

Had a mild sore throat brewing on Sunday, whose effects I tried to cushion by starting to drink more water. Practically saw my voice drop a couple of octaves on Monday and my throat felt like a tunnel of barb wire every time I swallowed. It came to a point where I couldn’t take it anymore yesterday. Strangely, I got a sore throat first followed by a hell of a sneezing/flu (how weird is that!). My throat and nose was killing me and I could hardly work properly the whole of yesterday. It was torturous.

I was planning to send a former classmate off at the airport last night; she was flying to the UK for university. After debating about whether to head down, I decided to stay at home instead and sent my regards via message cos she probably wouldn’t have been able to hear me speak if I called her. I guess it was a good decision as I was uncertain if she wanted me there, and I crashed at about 10:30pm.

Back to the original topic: my parents. I read a few Thought Catalog articles from my backlog (again) of which one on how privileged we actually are if we had any of the things on the list on the article. That was probably what instigated me to post this.

I’m thankful that I have parents who can afford to buy medication for me when medicine is so inaccessible for many others in the world. I’m thankful that I have a comfortable home where I can rest at ease, with no need to fear about war, poverty, shelter or money. I’m thankful for parents who whip up home-cooked meals as I combat this stubborn flu and sore throat.

They’ve been there for me more than I have and probably will ever be there for them. Though there are times when we don’t see eye to eye, and times when I resent them, I’m learning to be more thankful for my parents.

#215: the ones who care the most

Leave a Reply

