#210: Start Walking.

I could just sit
I could just sit and wait for all Your goodness
Hope to feel Your presence
And I could just stay
I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel You
Hope to feel something again

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You
Change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You lead me Lord
Where You lead me
Where You lead me Lord

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You
Change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You lead me Lord
Where You lead me

And I will be Yours, oh
I will be Yours for all my life

And I will be Yours, oh
I will be Yours for all my life

And I will be Yours, oh
I will be Yours for all my life
So let Your mercy

And I will be Yours, oh
I will be Yours for all my life
So let Your mercy light the path before me

Cause You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord
[x4]

Where You lead me
Where You lead me Lord
[x2]

Jonathan Wilson, the guest preacher for today’s Young Adults’ Sunday, has been a full time missionary in Japan for more than 20 years. I always found it daunting, and at times, self-restrictive, to do full time mission work. The latter is often a result of my perception being layered by tints of short-lived enjoyment derived from materialism.

But one thing that struck me (or more specifically, my mum reminded me of) from Jonathan’s message today, was to start walking. Start Walking. It doesn’t matter where we are now, nor the path that we’re embarking on. Just start walking, and God will calibrate our courses accordingly if we’re going off the road. Basically, it is imperative to take some sort of action with regard to our faith. I just realized that people often say “walk with God”, with “walk” being a verb, an action word.

I was consciously made aware of the need for me to be active in my faith through Jonathan’s sharing. I haven’t done so for…I don’t even remember now, and that’s not a good sign. I’ve signed up for a fortnightly Bible study group which I’ve yet to put in the amount of effort I only thought that I would. Besides doing Bible study, there are other commitments I have to take on in the coming few months, such as leading worship, brainstorming activities and most importantly, facilitating a Bible study session.  Leading youth worship has found its way back into my life once more and a quarterly elderly outreach event just came knocking on my door. Perhaps these are all simply pointing me towards one thing: start walking, and just go where God will lead me.

#210: Start Walking.

Leave a Reply

