#178: What happens next?

It’s 5 AM in the morning here and I’ve been awake for an hour cos my jet lag knocked me out at 7 PM yesterday and my body just decided to wake up at an unearthly 4AM. Oh I just came back from a holiday in the USA and apart from the cold blasting winds and wet amusement park rides, it was an A-W-E-S-O-M-E holiday!

My parents and I followed a tour group again (like our Italy trip 3 years back) with an interesting group of people. There were 2 big families, 1 was a family of 8 made up of 2 families actually: a family of 5 with 3 boys and a family of 3 with 2 girls. The other big family was a family of 7, 4 kids, 2 boys 2 girls. Add another family of 3, a couple and my family and there you have it, that was our tour group.

We toured mainly Los Angeles and Las Vegas, spending the last 2 days before our departure in San Francisco. It’s been such an eye opening trip, getting to see sights that I’ve previously only seen on the likes of Instagram and Tumblr. The Grand Canyon, the Vegas nightlife, Pebble Beach at Monterrey (oh I could definitely live here), the Golden Gate Bridge and so much more!

2 more awesome things were the shopping and the food. US outlet shopping is THE BEST (as long as you can find a design you really like and in your size). Their discounts are like THE discounts, the real deal. And the food. American food is greatttt. This trip alone I’ve tasted the best clam chowder (Fisherman’s Grotto at Fisherman’s Wharf), the best grilled lobster (Pier Market at Fisherman’s Wharf) and the best steak (The Cheesecake Factory in the macy’s at Union Square, San Francisco) in my life. Authentic American food is so good.

Now looking back, I recall that our tour group took quite a while to melt the ice, not much help rendered by the 20 something hours of flying and the jet lag that followed it. I think it wasn’t a waste of time having 2 theme park visits in this tour, those were the times we broke the ice as a tour group altogether. At Universal Studios Hollywood and Disneyland, we had common ground to converse about and common activities to participate in. If you ask me, I think we started to be a little more open to everyone after the 2 days spent at the theme parks.

Although I didn’t really talk very much to anyone in the group apart from my parents, I have to say I was hesitant when it came to our last day. I mean, having spent almost 2 weeks with a group of people who were previously strangers to you but are now related to you by common experience of this US tour, the thought of not seeing them probably ever again kinda scared me a little. Well, maybe cos of 1 or 2 people in particular. But anyway, it was when we touched down at the airport back home, going through the customs, picking up our luggage and nearing the moment to say goodbye that the daunting question arose: “What happens next?

I’ve already grown apart from the 2 rather good friends I’ve made during my Italy holiday 3 years ago, and I just don’t really want holiday acquaintances to fall apart so easily anymore. I’ve been talking to someone in my tour group a little more than the others and I hope we’ll be able to still keep in touch even as 2013 unfolds.

Oh crap, yes, Happy New Year haha. 2 more days till I get my results HURHUR…

Flag of USA nearby the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco
Flag of USA nearby the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco
#178: What happens next?

Leave a Reply

