#159: “not everything…not yet”

WARNING: BATMAN THE DARK KNIGHT RISES SPOILER ALERT!

Copyrights to IMDb The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

Selina Kyle: There’s a storm coming, Mr. Wayne. You and your friends better batten down the hatches, because when it hits, you’re all gonna wonder how you ever thought you could live so large and leave so little for the rest of us.
Bruce Wayne: You sound like you’re looking forward to it.
Selina Kyle: I’m adaptable.

Bruce Wayne: Must’ve lost my ticket.
Valet Attendant: Your wife said you were taking a cab home.
Bruce Wayne: My wife?

Lucius Fox: This conversation used to end with an unusual request.
Bruce Wayne: I’m retired.
Lucius Fox: Well let me show you some stuff anyway. Just for old time’s sake.

Lucius Fox: I call him The Bat, and yes Mr. Wayne it does come in black.

Alfred: [to Bruce] Remember when you left Gotham? Before all this, before Batman? You were gone seven years. Seven years I waited, hoping that you wouldn’t come back. Every year, I took a holiday. I went to Florence, there’s this cafe, on the banks of the Arno. Every fine evening, I’d sit there and order a Fernet Branca. I had this fantasy, that I would look across the tables and I’d see you there, with a wife and maybe a couple of kids. You wouldn’t say anything to me, nor me to you. But we’d both know that you’d made it, that you were happy. I never wanted you to come back to Gotham. I always knew there was nothing here for you, except pain and tragedy. And I wanted something more for you than that. I still do.

Bruce Wayne: Rachel died believing that we would be together; that was my life beyond the cape. I can’t just move on. She didn’t, she couldn’t.
Alfred: What if she had? What if, before she died, she wrote a letter saying she chose Harvey Dent over you? And what if, to spare your pain, I burnt that letter?
Bruce Wayne: How dare you use Rachel to try to stop me?
Alfred: I am using the truth, Master Wayne. Maybe it’s time we all stop trying to outsmart the truth and let it have its day. I’m sorry.
Bruce Wayne: You’re sorry? You expect to destroy my world and then think we’re going to shake hands?
Alfred: No… no, I know what this means.
Bruce Wayne: What does it mean?
Alfred: It means your hatred… and it also means losing someone that I have cared for since I first heard his cries echo through this house. But it might also mean saving your life. And that is more important.
Bruce Wayne: Goodbye, Alfred.

Roland Daggett: I paid you a small fortune…

Bane: And you think this gives you power over me?

Daggett: What are you?
Bane: I’m Gotham’s reckoning.

Catwoman: My mother warned me about getting into cars with strange men.
Batman: This isn’t a car.

Batman: [on a rooftop, Batman turns away from Catwoman, then turns back and realises she has gone] So that’s what that feels like.

Bane: [viciously beats Batman and throws him to the ground] I AM the League of Shadows, and I’m here to fulfill Ra’s al Ghul’s destiny!
[Batman uses an EMP device to cut the lights]
Bane: You fight like a younger man, with nothing held back. Admirable but mistaken.
Bane: Oh, you think darkness is your ally. You merely adopted the dark; I was born in it, moulded by it. I didn’t see the light until I was already a man, by then it was nothing to me but BLINDING!
[grabs Batman from the shadows and continues to beat him]
Bane: The shadows betray you, they belong to me!
[repeatedly punches Batman in the face, breaking his cowl]
Bane: I will show you where I have made my home while preparing to bring justice. Then I will break you.
[Hits detonator, blowing a hole into the bottom of Wayne Enterprise]
Bane: Your precious armory, gratefully accepted! We will need it.
[Batman desperately stands and swings at Bane]
Bane: Ah, yes… I was wondering what would break first…
[lifts Batman high]
Bane: Your spirit, or your body?
[slams him on his knee]

Bruce Wayne: I do fear death. I fear dying in here while my city burns.
Blind Prisoner: Then make the climb.
Bruce Wayne: How?
Blind Prisoner: As the child did. Without the rope. Then fear will find you again.

Crowd: [chanting] Deh-Shay, Deh-Shay, Bah Sah Rah. Bah Sah Rah.
Bruce Wayne: What does that mean?
Prisoner: “Rise.”

Catwoman: I blow that tunnel open, I’m gone!
Batman: There’s more to you than that.
Catwoman: Sorry I keep letting you down!
[pause]
Catwoman: Come with me. We can leave, and start a new life. You don’t owe these people any more! You’ve given them everything!
Batman: Not everything. Not yet.

[a couple thugs go to attack Lucius while he’s handcuffed. Catwoman intervenes and beats them down]
Lucius Fox: [to Batman] I like your new girlfriend!
Catwoman: [she undoes his cuffs] He should be so lucky.

Batman: A hero can be anyone. Even a man doing something as simple and reassuring as putting a coat around a little boy’s shoulders to let him know that the world hadn’t ended.
[takes off in the Bat]
Jim Gordon: Bruce Wayne?

Jim Gordon: [eulogizing the Batman] I see a beautiful city and a brilliant people rising from this abyss. I see the lives for which I lay down my life, peaceful, useful, prosperous and happy. I see that I hold a sanctuary in their hearts, and in the hearts of their descendants, generations hence. It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.

A fitting end to The Dark Knight trilogy. Thank you Christopher Nolan, Christian Bale and all who have played a part in bringing this Batman trilogy to the world.

#159: “not everything…not yet”

Leave a Reply

