#147: and maybe I’ll find some peace tonight

Angel” was one of the first songs written for Surfacing. McLachlan said that writing it was easy, “a real joyous occasion.” It was inspired by articles that she read in Rolling Stone about musicians turning to heroin to cope with the pressures of the music industry and subsequently overdosing. She said that she identified with the feelings that might lead someone to use heroin: “I’ve been in that place where you’re so fucked up and you’re so lost that you don’t know who you are anymore, and you’re miserable—and here’s this escape route. I’ve never done heroin, but I’ve done plenty of other things to escape.”She said that the song is about “trying not to take responsibility for other people’s shit and trying to love yourself at the same time.‘ – Angel (Sarah McLachlan song)

Spend all your time waiting
For that second chance,
For a break that would make it okay.

There’s always some reason
To feel not good enough,
And it’s hard, at the end of the day.

Keep on building the lies
That you make up for all that you lack.

It don’t make no difference,

Those were the lyrics that spoke most to me when I rediscovered Angel in my iTunes when its tune  played out in my head this evening as I sat staring at my ‘TOK essay’, frustrated over my writer’s block. Just caught Junior MasterChef Australia a little more than half an hour ago. Hoping that having watched those budding young chefs cook for their lives to stay in the competition, and after seeking some comfort from Sarah McLachlan, a sense of urgency, epiphany, clarity and coherence will spark to life inside me.

Gotta get my TOK essay done somehow. I’ve not started revising for Common Tests & they begin next Monday. Congrats to me seriously.

#147: and maybe I’ll find some peace tonight

Leave a Reply

