#131: “I lost a friend / Somewhere along in the bitterness”

Brian was plucking to How to Save a Life by The Fray in class today during TOK (philo). The first 2 lines of the chorus got me thinking (& I suppose accepting as well) about how I probably have lost a few friendships here and there already 4 months into 2012.

Lately, Person S & I don’t look at each other anymore whenever we happen to being in the same vicinity. I’ve also confirmed that Person B & Person J have changed the way they treat me. But that’s not the worst thing; what’s even worse is that this was so sudden & I have utterly no clue what happened or what did I do wrong?

Though I have to admit, I’ve suddenly stop being friendly or acknowledge people I was formerly much more amiable with. I tend to over think at times (though it doesn’t seem so this time around) and…it sucks that I pick up on these kind of attitudes towards me. Like when I walk past someone I know & they know me as well but they just ‘didn’t me coming’, or when I acknowledge someone & get a much less than enthusiastic reply.

It’s not the 1st time this has happened, but I’m afraid it won’t be the last. I do hope that such occurrences will stop, cos it seems like slowly, more of this is gonna happen over the few weeks and months…

I suppose what matters in the end, is the people who do remain in your life. As for now, I think being able to be conscious of this unknown bitterness & distancing from former friends but not getting overly afflicted by it, will do me well.

Where did I go wrong? I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness

How to Save a Life, by The Fray

#131: “I lost a friend / Somewhere along in the bitterness”

Leave a Reply

